What I talk about when I talk about photography
What I talk about when I talk about photography
Episode 00 - One Camera One Lens - Start Here
--:--
--:--

Episode 00 - One Camera One Lens - Start Here

Hi there!

Welcome to episode zero of One Camera One Lens, the audio diary for my 365 photo project. This introductory episode has a bit of an origin story about how I got into photography and I also talk a little about the purpose behind the current experiment.

This isn’t my first rodeo as far as 365 projects are concerned. Back in 2009, when I had just picked up my first camera, I turned it on myself for a daily self-portrait project. I learned a lot about myself over the course of that year and I was immediately obsessed with this creative journey behind a camera.

Days, 25, 39 & 282 from the project in 2009 

I have very little interest in stepping in front of the camera everyday for the 2021 reboot. Instead, I'll be focused on documenting my everyday life and looking out for inspiration and beauty in wherever I go.

One Camera. One Lens.

I’ve chosen one of my all time favorite cameras, the Contax G1, for this project. This small-ish, rangefinder style, 35mm camera has a line of beautiful lenses. I fell in love with this camera in late 2019. However, for some lame reason, I traded it for something more "renown and coveted" only to look back on my favorite images of the last year and realize they were the ones created with the Contax. So I tracked down another one towards the end of 2020.

My Contax G1 w/ Zeiss Biogon T* 2.8/28mm

I've always been a 50mm lens kinda guy. It’s the first “professional” lens I bought and I still own it to this day. However, this time around, I’m working with the Zeiss 28mm 2.8 Biogon lens. I thought this was a little risky for me because I like what I like... and I don't like change. However, after all we’ve been through in 2020, maybe a new way of seeing the world around me is what I’m longing for.

….but why film?

I really do love digital photography, but film offers a good and healthy distance from the shots I make. I can't immediately review every shot by simply looking at the back of the camera. I’m also not able to zoom in and obsess over every detail in the frame in order to make adjustments before taking the shot again. Even right down to whether a photograph is to be made in color or black & white has to be a deliberate choice because of film. So I hope to practice a little discipline by making every shot more intentional and learning to get better at accepting things just as they are, no edits necessary.

Always push it one stop… or in this case, two

Next episode, will have images from the first roll of the year.

For the record, I’ve already shot four rolls of film (2 Black & White, 2 Color). Two rolls have been processed and scanned and I’ll get around to the other two some time this weekend.

There will be a lot of trial and error throughout the experiment. So let me prepare you by saying, many of my shots aren’t going to win any trophies, but perfection isn’t the goal here. The goals are simple

A commitment to personal growth through the daily practice of my craft and to create for the simple love of creating.

That’s it. Let’s not overcomplicate this thing. Just practice everyday and enjoy it.

I’m grateful you’re here.

See ya later,

. rm


I want to hear from you

What were you up to in 2009?

Write me at hello@rickmarquez.com

Know someone that might enjoy One Camera One Lens? Fantastic! Share this with your friends by clicking below:

Share One Camera. One Lens.


0 Comments
What I talk about when I talk about photography
What I talk about when I talk about photography
As a lifelong creative, I had never really found “my thing”.
For a large chunk of my life, I thought it’d be music. Maybe performing and producing music or creating custom drums out of my parent’s basement. I was sure one of those things was my thing.
I didn’t pick up my first camera until I was twenty-something.
Music was a part of that introduction, now that I think about it.
So is photography my thing?
Maybe.
For now, it can be
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Rick